Light incarnate

“…In my outward gaze upon the brilliance of the sunset scene, green had been the first shade to fade into the shadows. Even my soul’s urgent efforts fail to fill the void…”

Landscaping the Sacred

image

As I watch the sky and the earth meet at sunset, I can’t help but feel, somehow, left out of the immensity of it. I am right there, but not welcomed into the display I see around me. If I let the scene soak in, it is as if I am drawn out of myself, dissolved. This beauty is missing something I cannot supply without exhausting my soul. These colors are not embodied, but bleed outward, with my soul in tow. The night approaches and gently coaxes me to abandon the support of my senses.

So I look inward to explore why this impression is so strong.

I find that, what I missed in the fading sky, was the green of foliage, forest and field; the comfort of home, with all of its closeness and contour. In my  outward gaze upon the brilliance of the sunset scene, green had become…

View original post 570 more words

Please Leave Your Thoughts, Words, Wisdom.

