Water notes

A root had somehow, found its way through the stone walls of the well. Someone had cut it off about as far down the wall as I could reach. Of course, I had to reach.

What stopped me was not the caution that may have turned a more sensible fellow. As I leaned, a drop of water fell from the tip of the root and I watched it fall the full six feet to the shining pool below. “Doik!” reverberated startlingly loudly up the walls, as my haloed silhouette darkened into a series of rings. Mesmerized by the effect, I waited silently for the next drop. My shimmering, sky-encircled reflection so far below, gradually re-emerged. I took my eyes off the drop gathering gravity on the root, distracted momentarily by my own re-forming image. “Doik!” I missed it! … Not next time! I was not going to miss the next one!

The next drop developed and fell as if in slow motion: The pregnant swell, the glistening reach for the pool, the separation, the struggle to become round, falling faster…and the exact same, sudden “Doik!” that, once again, shattered my forgotten reflection into rings.

I hesitate… as if at the threshold of a holy place, as I re-create the picture of what was about to happen; how the sacred reflection in the water of that well would disappear for that nine year old boy…

20130630-092211.jpg

There is something so engaging in the phenomena of the world, that we are drawn to it in wonder. We have to lose that sky-filled, haloed image of ourselves and our original world, to really see what the world around us is all about. Yet, the sanctity returns, when the world, once studied, is once again… stilled.

2 thoughts on “Water notes

  1. Richard F Santopietro

    Hi Tom,
    I beautiful story about a beautiful person. I had a similar experience with a tiny sunspot that came through a nail hole in my parent’s garage roof. While working on my bike, my eye caught a bright dot on an old paint can. When I found the source of the spot (the sun shining through the nail hole), my curiosity was sated – at least for the moment. About 5 minutes later, I wanted to check on “my” spot, and it had MOVED to another place on the paint can. In an instant, I realized that the sun had actually moved – an event I never fully noticed before.

    From that moment on, my fascination with the sun never ceased. I was lucky enough to spend over 10 years of my engineering career developing and promoting solar photovoltaic energy systems.

    Noticing little things about the natural world brings much to the observer…

    Richard

    Reply
  2. Landscaping the Sacred Post author

    Reblogged this on Landscaping the Sacred and commented:

    The solo dance that nature expresses without us is wise, poetic and epic, but these elements would go unnoticed unless you and I came along with our human capacity to appreciate them. This is what we have to offer as dance partners; selflessness appreciation in all its forms; Studied observation, aesthetic recognition and devoted action. The paradox lies in that this kind of selfless absorption in the essence of nature is only made possible through a gradual dawning of the sense of our own being, our own self. “The world around us is filled everywhere with the glory of God, but we have to experience the divine in our own souls before we can find it in our surroundings.” (Rudolph Steiner)

    Reply

Please Leave Your Thoughts, Words, Wisdom.

